Home » About Us » Structure & Committees » Policy Committee

Policy Committee

Members of the Policy Committee represent key decision makers and signatory authorities to the BBP and include representatives from:  the Regional Administrator of the US EPA, Region 2; the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection; the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders; Ocean County College; the Ocean County Mayor’s Association; and a citizen representative.

The Policy Committee's responsibilities include:

  • Approve annual budget and work plan.
  • Develop new action items or policy initiatives that develop during program implementation.
  • Ensure commitment among implementing authorities for action item implementation and scheduling.
  • Assist in securing long-term funding commitments.
  • Promote the BBP to a statewide and nationwide audience.
  • Mediate issues of disagreement among BBP participants.

Policy Committee Members

Name: Affiliation and Title
Hon. Paul J. Kennedy Ocean County Mayor's Association, President
Catherine R. McCabe USEPA, Region 2, Acting Regional Administrator (Co-Chair)
Javier E. Laureano, Ph.D. USEPA, Region 2, Director, Clean Water Division (Alternate)
George Murnyak Citizen Member
Dr. Jon H. Larson Ocean County College, President
Bob Martin NJDEP, Commissioner (Co-Chair)
Hon. Joseph H. Vicari Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders, Freeholder Liaison
Dr. L. Stanton Hales, Jr. Co-Chair, Advisory Committee (ex officio) 
Karen Greene Co-Chair, Advisory Committee (ex officio)
Rob Karl Chair, Science and Technical Advisory Committee (ex officio)
Wes Dalzell Chair, Communication and Education Committee (ex officio)

Policy Committee Meeting Documents

Approved Minutes