Home » About Us » Structure & Committees » Science and Technical Committee

Science and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

The principal purpose of the STAC is to provide the Barnegat Bay Partnership (BBP) with objective, expert advice, and peer review for overall scientific and technical matters related to National Estuary Program activities and goals, such as those specified in the Partnership's Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan. It works with the Advisory Committee to identify and prioritize science and technical needs within the Barnegat Bay, and assists with the BBP office to raise awareness and resources for addressing these needs. Members of the STAC also participate and facilitate communication among other specialized science and technical committees, and recommends forming and disbanding new STAC sub-committees and technical workgroups as needed, i.e. Eutrophication Work Group, Fisheries Work Group, and Climate Change Work Group.

STAC Members

Name: Affiliation
Dr. Matthew Poach National Marine Fisheries Service
Gregg Sakowicz
Jacques Cousteau National Estuarine Research Reserve (JCNERR)
Christine Wieben US Geological Survey
Dr. Ron Baker US Geological Survey (Alternate)
Matt Csik Ocean County Health Department
Nelson Santiago Ocean County Health Department (Alternate)
Rob Tunstead
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Christine Hall USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (Alternate)
Tim Dillingham American Littoral Society
Helen Henderson American Littoral Society (Alternate)
Alena Baldwin-Brown
Lynette Lurig
NJDEP (Alternate)
Rob Karl Brick Municipal Utilities Authority (Chair)
Will Ruocco
Brick Municipal Utilities Authority (Alternate)
Dr. John Manderson National Marine Fisheries Service (Alternate)
Darvene Adams US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 2 (Alternate)
Barbara Spinweber US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 2
Dr. Peter Rowe New Jersey Sea Grant Consortium
Michael J. Danko New Jersey Sea Grant Consortium (Alternate)
Steve Mars USFWS/Edwin B. Forsythe Wildlife Refuge
Eric Schrading USFWS/Edwin B. Forsythe Wildlife Refuge (Alternate)
Heather Jensen US Army Corps of Engineers
Britta Wenzel Save Barnegat Bay (Alternate)
Dr. L. Stanton Hales, Jr. Barnegat Bay Partnership (ex officio)
Dr. James Vasslides Barnegat Bay Partnership
Victoria Pecchioli Ocean County Department of Planning
Scott Conklin Ocean County Utilities Authority
Carol Conklin Ocean County Utilities Authority (Alternate)
Dr. John Wnek
Save Barnegat Bay
Patrick Burritt
NJ Pinelands Commission
Charles Caruso Pinelands Preservation Alliance
Dr. Ryan Rebozo Pinelands Preservation Alliance (Alternate)
Rick Bushnell ReClam the Bay
Clint Lehman ReClam the Bay (Alternate)
Jim Nickels Urban Coast Institute at Monmouth University
Dr. Steven Yergeau
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Ocean County (Vice-Chair)
Dr. Douglas Zemeckis Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Ocean County (Alternate)
Dr. Louise Wootton Georgian Court University
Dr. Elizabeth Lacey At-large member

Related Documents

STAC Charter
STAC Statement on the Scientific Justification for Fertilizer Ordinances
STAC Statement on Soil Health
STAC 2010 Research Prospectus
STAC 2017 Research Prospectus

STAC Minutes - Approved